Blaxhall Ship Inn, Suffolk

Blaxhall Ship Inn - About Us

The Blaxhall Ship Inn is a small country pub with a big heart. A centre-point of village life, we also welcome visitors from all over the UK and beyond to sample a piece of the quiet life in our detached chalet accommodation in the lovely village of Blaxhall.

The Ship Inn boasts an enviable location. Sat alongside a small country road in the peaceful little village of Blaxhall, it is only 2 miles from Snape Maltings and just a few more miles to the beautiful heritage coast at Aldeburgh or the historical market town of Woodbridge. We are only a few minutes from Wickham Market train station, giving a regular fast service into the centre of London.

Blaxhall Ship Inn

Run by local people under the management of Siggi and Adrian Batstone, our emphasis is on outstanding pub food using the best possible local ingredients. Food is served in the two open and interconnecting bar areas and the menu always includes popular country favourites alongside some globally inspired alternatives. We also have regular fresh seafood brought in directly from the Suffolk coast at Lowestoft. As you would expect of one of Suffolk’s finest Inns we also have several varieties of Real Ales on offer. We are also able to cater for special dietary needs, please simply call us to discuss your requirements.

At The Blaxhall Ship Inn we have the facilities to cater for business meetings or functions, private parties, weddings and wakes. Please contact us to discuss further.

Detached from the pub, we have two different sets of chalet accommodation – all offering a comfortable night’s sleep and an outstanding full English breakfast for those who would like it. For those looking for something to do, your hosts will be able to provide information on all the local towns, historic attractions, local walks and cycle rides.

Where ever you come from, and whatever you come for, we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome. Please come back to our website often to check out all the latest events and news.

Traditional Folk at the Ship Inn

Dating back to the year 1700 The Ship Inn, it is said, was originally to be called ‘The Sheep Inn’; but the sign writer misunderstood the broad Suffolk dialect that was native to here. By the time the mistake was noticed it was too late.

Featuring in many local tales, a few songs and in George Ewart Evans famous book about rural life ‘Ask the fellows who cut the hay’; The Ship Inn is one of the oldest Folk Music pubs in East Anglia, possibly the whole country.

Simply ‘Googling’ Blaxhall Ship (or similar) will lead you into a mind boggling array of links. There are numerous Youtube clips of folk singing and traditional step dancing in the bar, along with black & white footage of pub life in the 1950s from the UEA and BBC Archives – all well worth a look. Several documentaries about folk music, poetry and the spoken word have been made in The Ship Inn.

At The Ship Inn we have a close Bond with Suffolk Folk and Aldeburgh Music, hosting two significant Folk Music competitions every year – The Chorus Cup and The Percy Webb Cup. In addition we hold our own Midsummer Festival Of Folk over the Summer Solstice annually and are an offsite stage for the ever popular Folkeast Festival at Glemham Hall.

Percy Webb was a well loved local who frequented this pub and many others in the area. A charismatic man who entertained generations with his voice and repertoire of folk songs, he cut his first record at the age of 83.

Every Monday we maintain a tradition that goes beyond the memory of our oldest regular – all ‘the locals’ get together for a sing song at about 2.30pm. It is not an organised event, but usually well attended and everyone is most welcome to join in or spectate. If you play an instrument, all the better, please bring it along.

There is traditional folk music with local group Shipshape on the 4th Wednesday monthly. An Irish night on the 2nd Friday, both of these are sessions and depend on who actually turns up. On alternate Thursdays we have Jam sessions run by local musician Mick Peachey, this is very relaxed and Mick is a great host. It is a wonderful opportunity to chill out and play great music with like-minded souls. This rotates with a bi-weekly folk open session that works in a similar way. Most Sunday afternoons we have live music across the range of genres from Folk to Motown, Rock & Blues –we try to cater for everyone. Please visit the events page to see what’s a goin’ on a th’ Shep.

Come and stay at Snape Holiday Cottages in Blaxhall just a 20 minute stroll from the Ship Inn.

Ship Inn Events

The Company of the Blaxhall Ship – (The Blaxhall Boys).Get together every Monday afternoon for a good old singsong – traditional folk and contemporary too. A glimpse of what pub life used to be. All welcome.

Mickey’s Jam Night – Every other Thursday join local music hero Mick Peachy & friends for a relaxed evening of music & verse. Everyone welcome, if you can sing, say or play and want to join in please let Mickey know.

Shipshape – Singers, Musicians and Company of the Blaxhall Ship Inn join us on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 8.30pm for an evening of traditional folk – all welcome.

Music, singing, stepping and stories – random & adhoc. Visiting musicians and singers are made very welcome.

Many other types of music events are regularly held at The Ship so call us and see what you could be missing!

March 2016

  • Sun 29th Mar 2016, 3:00pm - Horsefire
  • Mon 30th Mar 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys

April 2016

  • Thu 2nd Apr 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Mon 6th Apr 2016, 3:00pm - Buckshee
  • Sun 12th Apr 2016, 2:30pm - Spacecake
  • Mon 13th Apr 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Thu 16th Apr 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Sun 19th Apr 2016, 2:30pm - CHORUS CUP
  • Mon 20th Apr 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Wed 22nd Apr 2016, 8:30pm - Shipshape
  • Sun 26th Apr 2016, 2:30pm - Broadside Boys
  • Mon 27th Apr 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Thu 30th Apr 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night

May 2016

  • Sun 3rd May 2016, 2:30pm - Mark Anthony
  • Sun 3rd May 2016, 8:00pm - The Percy Webb Memorial Cup
  • Mon 4th May 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Sun 10th May 2016, 2:30pm - Cross Country
  • Mon 11th May 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Mon 11th May 2016, 7:30pm - East Suffolk Morris
  • Thu 14th May 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Sat 16th May 2016, 8:00pm - The Blyth Herald
  • Sun 17th May 2016, 2:30pm - Grace Bros
  • Mon 18th May 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Sun 24th May 2016, 1:00pm - Thameside Mummers
  • Sun 24th May 2016, 2:30pm - Old Blarney
  • Mon 25th May 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Mon 25th May 2016, 7:00pm - Sing around the room
  • Wed 27th May 2016, 8:30pm - Shipshape
  • Thu 28th May 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Sun 31st May 2016, 2:30pmAdam & Jayne

June 2016

  • Mon 1st Jun 2016, 2:30pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Sun 7th Jun 2016, 2:30pm - Martin McNeill
  • Mon 8th Jun 2016, 2:30pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Thu 11th Jun 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Sun 14th Jun 2016, 2:30pm - Greg McDonald
  • Mon 15th Jun 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Fri 19th Jun 2016, 7:00pm - Midsummer Festival of Folk
  • Sat 20th Jun 2016, 11:00am - Midsummer Festival of Folk
  • Sun 21st Jun 2016, 11:00am - Midsummer Festival of Folk
  • Mon 22nd Jun 2016, 2:00pm - Blaxhall Boys
  • Thu 25th Jun 2016, 8:30pm - Mickey's Jam Night
  • Sun 28th Jun 2016, 3:30pm - Steve Boyce

July 2016

  • Sun 5th Jul 2016, 12:00am - John Ward
  • Sun 19th Jul 2016, 2:30pm - Mean Mr Mustard
  • Fri 24th Jul 2016, 10:00am - The First East Anglian Story Telling Festival - The celebration of a living tradition.
  • Sat 25th Jul 2016, 8:00pm -The Blyth Herald

August 2016

  • Fri 21st Aug 2016, 11:00am - Folkeast 2016
  • Sat 22nd Aug 2016, 11:00am - Folkeast 2016
  • Sun 23rd Aug 2016, 11:00am - Folkeast 2016
  • Sun 23rd Aug 2016, 2:30pm - Broadside Boys
  • Sun 30th Aug 2016, 2:30pm - Old Blarney

September 2016

  • Sat 12th Sep 2016, 3:00pm - Spacecake
  • Sun 20th Sep 2016, 2:30pm - Mark Anthony
  • Sun 20th Sep 2016, 2:30pm - Space cake

October 2016

  • Sun 25th Oct 2016, 3:30pm - Steve Boyce

December 2016

  • Sun 6th Dec 2016, 2:30pm - Broadside Boys
  • Sun 13th Dec 2016, 3:00pm - John Ward
  • Sun 20th Dec 2016, 2:30pm - Mean Mr Mustard
Book Now
Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser